Thank you, Robin Williams  

I’ve fallen out of the habit of writing personal logs online, but when I found out about the death of Robin Williams, my grief forced me to write something about it. What you can read in the link above is what I wrote right after I found out, so it is neither eloquent nor particularly poignant, but merely an expulsion of my emotions.

Nevertheless, I feel its ultimate message is important. A consistent reaction to my creative work (particularly the stories, films, or music) is that it is random or nonsensical, even in cases where there is rigid structure underneath the nonsense. There was a time when I saw this reaction as negative, but then I would observe Williams and learn that being true to yourself was more important than the perception of being normal.

My writing style may have mellowed over the past few years, but watching Williams perform has and will continue to inspire me to let my imagination rule, not my self-consciousness.

R.I.P.

 
2
Kudos
 
2
Kudos

Now read this

Twenty one thousand six hundred

The room shakes. Curtains flutter. A nurse shuts the windows to block out the noise, a compounding whirr. On the phone, a doctor wearing scrubs urges colleagues to act as the helicopter nears. I accidentally tore the nail almost off my... Continue →